Oreo Stuffed Chocolate Chip Cookies

I love cookies as much as the next person, if that person was Paula Deen, so when I was presented with the challenge of making these bulky little guys, I knew I couldn’t resist. A cookie in a cookie= amazingness!

Advice: I recommend you make these Saturday morning or Sunday night. Saturday- so if you eat a bunch of them you have time to feel less disgusting by Monday. Sunday night- so you can pack them up for your co-workers/friends and give some of these bad boys away. If you don’t you will eat all of them and you will hate yourself for it later. You’ve been warned =)  

Ingredients  (Makes approx. 20 cookies)

2 sticks (1 cup) softened butter
3/4 cup packed light brown sugar
1 cup granulated sugar
2 large eggs
1 tablespoon pure vanilla
3 1/2 cups flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon baking soda
10 oz bag chocolate chips
1 pkg. Oreo cookies ( If you’d like to be extra decadent you can use Double Stuffed Oreos)  

Directions  As always, preheat oven to 350 degrees.  Cream butter and sugars together with a mixer until well combined.  Beat in eggs and vanilla.

In a separate bowl mix the flour, salt and baking soda.  Slowly add to wet ingredients along with chocolate chips until just combined. 

Once the dough is finished, the real fun begins. It’s important to make the dough as thin as you can so the cookie doesn’t turn out super bulky. If your cookies come out too big they won’t be as moist. Initially I took one scoop of cookie dough and placed it on top of an Oreo Cookie, then took another scoop of dough and placed it on the bottom of Oreo cookie.  I sealed the edges together and cupped the dough until the Oreo was fully enclosed within. However I found out that this made my cookies really really big. I like big cookies, but I don’t like them this “offensively” large. I wanted them to be a treat not an entree.

So I came up with a different idea. I took one scoop of dough and flattened it on my hand (as seen below) then I placed the Oreo in the middle and closed the flattened dough around it.

This created smaller and cuter cookies. Once you’ve finished created all the cookie balls, place them on a parchment baking sheet and bake for 10-15 minutes or until golden brown. Let them cool and serve with a glass of milk!

  

Leave a Reply

