Chocolate Dreams

I love Ina Garten: her delicious recipes and semi-pretentious but adorable attitude make her irresistible and make me say crazy things like ” Jeffrey would love this”  (even though my guy’s name is not Jeffrey). For Easter I decided to make a cake! Yes me… a cake. The idea that I could make a “torte” as we call them in Albania was insane. Only grand cooks like my aunt can make a “torte” but Ina makes it look so easy, so I decided to give it a try. I went for a classic delicious chocolate cake with Chocolate Buttercream frosting. You can find the recipe here. I made my frosting a little different by soaking the cakes with a few teaspoons of Baileys Irish Cream. It brought out the flavors of the chocolate even more, and my cake, despite the fact that I only had one pan, came out amazing.

A few days later I made a batch of yellow cake cupcakes with lemon zest, using the recipe I used here and topped them off with Ina’s fabulous buttercream once again. This time I added a few sliced almonds and grapes for decoration. I also finally got to use my handmade cake stand which I purchased from the lovely Jennifer. Check out her Etsy Shop for more of her creations.

Leave a Reply

