Sunday Cooking

I’ve been such a bad blogger lately, but the Holidays have brought on a slew of chores and endless tasks both at work and in my person life. I took a time out, literally, this past Sunday and focused on cooking and then shopping online while I ate everything I cooked, which as you will see below was a lot.

It all started with the Food Network, which is usually my source of inspiration. Late Saturday night, after recovering from a great girls’ night out at my favorite Irish pub, I found myself hypnotized by Curtis Stone. Though he’s not really my type, his food definitely was. I almost made a trip to the supermarket at 2am to buy the ingredients needed to make his Hotcakes with Blueberry Compote. The easy recipe for this delicious breakfast treat can be found here, and it is no wonder Curtis describes this as one of the best things he ever made, it was definitely one of the best things I ever ate. 

After this light and healthy breakfast, I decided to make chilli for lunch. My mom makes the best chilli in the world, so I called her up and asked her for the recipe. Two hours later, I found myself finishing my second bowl of chili and wondering how I could make my stomach expand so I could eat a third bowl. Unfortunately this didn’t happen and i had to give up and resign myself to the food comma that followed.

Ingredients

  • .50 oz ground beef
  • .50 oz ground veal
  • .50 oz ground pork
  • 1 28 oz Pomi chopped tomatoes
  • 2 chopped onions
  • 1/2 cup of water
  • 5 cloves of garlic
  • olive oil
  • dried oregano
  • chili powder
  • paprika
  • cayenne pepper 
  • Adobo
  • Cilantro
  • 1 container (12 oz) white beans
  • 1 container red beans
  • 1 container pink beans
  • 1 red pepper

Recipe

Heat oil in a saucepan. Add onion and garlic and sauté until softened. Then add the three types of meat and cook until browned. Season with salt and pepper. Add the chopped tomatoes and 1/2 cup of water. Let it simmer on low for 30-40 minutes, until it thickens. Add the beans and chopped red pepper. Then season with oregano, paprika, chili powder, Adobo and cayenne pepper to your liking. Cook for an additional 30 minutes. Serve with cilantro. 

Lastly I made pulled bbq chicken. Unfortunately I do not have a picture of this because S ate it before I could snap some.Though I would say this is the easiest of the 3 recipes. For this version I ended up making my own BBQ sauce, mostly because I was too tired to go to the supermarket to buy it, however you can easily make this recipe with store bought BBQ sauce. If you’d like to make your own, I’ve included the recipe I followed which turned out really well. 

Ingredients

  • 4 Chicken Breasts (though you can use any cut of chicken)
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • BBQ Sauce
  • 1 Onion
  • Special Appliance Required : Slow Cooker

Recipe

Wash meat thoroughly and place piece by piece in the slow cooker. Season with salt and pepper. Top with bbq sauce – about 8 oz or until the meat is completely covered. Set Slow Cooker to cook for 5 hours. You’ll know the meat is done when you’ll be able to pull it apart into strands with a fork. If it is not done in 5 hours, you can add an extra 30 minutes. Once meat is fully cooked, take out of the slow cooker, pull it apart with two forks and then cover with remaining sauce. You can serve this as the meat in any dish with a side of salad or vegetables, or make a sandwich out of it.

BBQ Sauce Ingredients

  • 1 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup of water
  • 1/4 cup of vinegar
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • 2 tablespoons paprika
  • 1 tablespoon chili powder
  • 1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 2 cloves of garlic

BBQ Sauce Recipe

Heat oil in a saucepan. Add garlic and sauté until brown. Add remaining ingredients and reduce heat. Simmer for 15 minutes until thickened.

Happy Cooking and Eating!

Leave a Reply

