Pizza Time

Last week I made first pizza, from scratch! ::cue heavenly music:: This is actually kind of embarrassing considering the following facts: 1) My boyfriend is Italian 2) I’m Albanian 3) I eat a lot of pizza at least once a week, every week.

Actually I think pizza is my favorite dish because it contains my favorite ingredient: le cheese! Sometimes I’ll be walking down the street or about to fall asleep and out of the blue, my fat/food-obsessed mind will ask itself  “If you had to choose between pizza and burgers as your favorite food and give up the other for all of eternity, which would you choose?” This is a tricky questions because meat is in fact my other favorite ingredient/food, so I’ll torture myself with this dilemma as if my life depended on it. And as always, great questions raise even greater questions such as “If i have to give up pizza, can I have  my burger on a piece of bread that has sauce and cheese on it but also includes meat, lettuce and more cheese?” Or the alternative “If I give up burgers, can I have my pizza with a meat patty on it, topped by another slice of pizza?”

I know what you’re thinking …

1) These are very difficult questions to ask yourself.

2) Both of these weird alternative creations sound delicious.

Now while I try to figure out how I can make the above options and still fit into my jeans, let’s have a look-see at the scrumdelumptious pizza I made last week. Shout out to S for his pizza dough flying in the air skills.

What you need for your dough

  • 1 (.25 ounce) package active dry yeast
  • 1 cup warm water (110 degrees F/45 degrees C)
  • 2 cups bread flour
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons white sugar

What you need for your toppings

  • 1 lb fresh mozzarella ( see above for explanation of why I used so much)
  • .25 ounce fontina cheese (again see above)
  • 7-8 anchovies
  • .30 ounce Prosciutto di Parma (about 16 thin slices)
  • 4 tbsp marinara sauce ( quantity depends on how much sauce you want on your pizza)

How to make your pizza

  • In a small bowl, dissolve yeast in warm water. Let stand until creamy, about 10 minutes.
  • In a large bowl, combine 2 cups bread flour, olive oil, salt, white sugar and the yeast mixture; stir well to combine. Beat well until a stiff dough has formed. Cover and rise until doubled in volume, about 30 minutes. Meanwhile, preheat oven to 350 degrees F and preheat your pizza stone. ( I used this one
  • Turn dough out onto a well floured surface. Form dough into a round and roll out into a pizza crust shape.
  • Because we played around with the dough a little too much ( … you’ll know how addicting that dough is once you make it), we had to bring back some moisture in it via olive oil which I had previously infused with garlic and sun-dried tomatoes. You can obviously skip this step if you’re a serious cook and don’t play around with your food like some people.
  • Spread the sauce, cheese, prosciutto and anchovies on the pizza. Sprinkle with additional Fontina cheese on top. Transfer the pizza into the preheated stone and bake for 30 minutes (Depending on your oven. Mine is from the 1800s so it took 50 minutes)

The Dough after the playing ended.

 

Pre-baking pic.

Leave a Reply

