3 Day Juice Cleanse

image

I’ve heard a lot about the benefits of juice cleanses and since being healthy is constantly one of my goals ( though I undoubtedly fail a few times a week) I decided to give it a try. You can buy your juices at several places in NYC including Organic Avenue, BluePrint, and Cooler Cleanse but they’ll run you about $100 a day for 6 juices, and if you’re planning on doing a cleanse for a few days you can easily spend up to $500. I think that’s a bit unreasonable for juice, so I decided to do some research and find an at home recipe I could follow.

As always Pinterest proved to be an essential source of information and I was able to find exactly what I needed from What’s Gabby Cooking.  I marched over to BBB and bought a Jack la Lanne’s Juicer, a great and cheaper alternative to Breville. I decided to do the juice fast for 3 days, and included 5 juices a day and about 10 bottles of water a day, because honestly water became ” the treat” during this time. The cleanse consisted of a green juice, red juice and orange juice. Perhaps the best part of this experience was going food shopping for all the fruits and vegetables in preparation for the fast, and being thoroughly embarrassed to purchase 16 bags of carrots. Not a joke!

Green Juice – Ingredients ( Drink 3 times a day) 

3 leaves kale, stem removed, roughly chopped

1 handful spinach leaves, roughly choppe

1 cup chopped romaine lettuce

1 bunch parsley, roughly chopped

1/2 English cucumber

2 sticks celery, roughly chopped

1 apple, halved and seeds removed

1 inch piece fresh ginger

1 lemon, rind removed

image

Orange Juice – Ingredients ( Drink 2 times a day) 

9 carrots

1 orange, rind removed

1 apple, quartered

1 slice pineapple, skin removed

1/2 of a lemon

1 inch turmeric root

image

Red Jeans – Ingredients ( Drink once a day)

1 apple

2 red beets

3 large carrots

1 orange, rind removed

1 (1-inch) piece of ginger

1 handful spinach

image

I did not enjoy the taste of the juices themselves and found it especially difficult to chug the green juice first thing in the morning, but tried to focus on the bigger picture. My main objective was not to lose weight, (though I did lose about 3 lbs which I gained by the following week) so I would not recommend a juice cleanse for that reason. However if you’re looking to give your digestive system a break ( processing all the red meat, cakes and pizza is a lot of work) this is definitely the way to go about it. If you’re thinking about giving it a try, I’d recommend doing it on days when you are off from work or school, because it does mess up your concentration, especially the first day when all you’ll be thinking about is food. By the fourth day, when I was finally done, I did feel refreshed, full of energy and truly felt that my body was healthier.

My favorite part of the cleanse was discovering juicing. Ever since the fast I’ve been juicing many fruits and vegetables that weren’t a big part of my diet before. A few of my favorites are: Oranges for fresh orange juice, loaded with Vitamin C and anti-oxidants.

image

Carrots, packed with Vitamin A, more on its benefits here.

image

Celery, one of my least favorite vegetables in the whole world but packed with a massive amount of nutrients. It can help lower cholesterol, blood pressure and fight cancer; you can read more about it here.

image

Though it can be hard to commit to a juice fast, I think having a glass of fresh squeezed juice, whatever it may be, can definitely be beneficial to your health and something you should try to incorporate in your every day life.

Leave a Reply

