Amazing Face Masks

image

During college I worked as a front desk receptionist at one of the best spas in New York City, where I witnessed first hand the lengths that many women go to, to achieve perfect skin. At the time I wasn’t very interested in these treatments, but lately, thanks in part to my mom who is an esthetician, and my new bathroom mirror – which helps me look at every single pore on my face – I’ve become a bit obsessed with them. 

I’ve tried to become more committed to facials and make an effort to go in at least every 6 weeks. I’m a big fan of microdermabrasion – a skin-care technique that uses tiny rough grains to buff away the surface layer of skin. I get a bit claustrophobic with regular facials and don’t like too many creams on my face, so Micro is truly the best solution for me.

I’ve also started using many of the masks my mom has recommended over the years. Exfoliating your skin is very important and should be done at least once a week, but you should also invest in a good hydrating mask, a purifying mask and a regular mask – to help with blackheads and shrink pores. Like with most things, these products can quickly add up and you’ll soon find yourself spending a couple of hundred dollars on them. However, many of the benefits these masks produce can be recreated by simple ingredients often found in your kitchen. Below are three of my favorite DIY masks that are absolutely amazing! 

image

Sweet and Soft Yogurt and Honey Mask

4 tbsp plain yogurt ( I use strained Greek yogurt like Fage)

1 tbsp honey

Mix well and refrigerate for at least 30 minutes. Apply generously to your face and let it sit for 10-15 minutes or until it’s dry.

The low down: In my family we often use yogurt when we get sunburns. It helps cool and repair the skin, and diminish the angry red color. Its acidity makes yogurt a good exfoliator, plus the protein, zinc and lactose enzymes found in it, help dissolve dirt and nourish and soften the skin. Honey is a natural antibacterial, which makes it especially helpful with acne and breakouts. It’s also – as you can imagine- very moisturizing.

This “mask” is one of my favorites. Once you wash your face, your skin will feel, look and smell fantastic. Just be careful and don’t lick your face while you have this on, needless to say this is a mask you can actually eat and it tastes really good.

image

Get Fresh with a Cucumber Mask

This one is super easy. Simply apply slices of cucumbers all over your face and let it sit for about 10 minutes. Splash your face with water afterwards and follow up with your moisturizer of choice.

The low down: Cucumber has a water concentration that is approximately the same as the skin’s hydration content, which is why this vegetable is especially good to rejuvenate and moisturize the skin, and make it look more supple. Cucumbers also have a high level of vitamin K, which help erase dark circles.

image

Extra Tight with the Egg White

2 egg whites

pinch of corn starch

Whisk the egg whites until small peaks are formed. Then add the corn starch gradually. Apply the mask to face. Leave for 20-25 minutes, then rinse with warm water.

The low down: My grandmother used egg whites on her skin weekly when I was growing up. She’s 85 now and still has amazing skin even though she’s never used a face cream in her life. Egg whites are great to tighten the skin, give you a clear and smooth complexion and help minimize pores. Give it a try, this mask won’t cost you more than 50 cents!

I hope you give one of these masks a try and if you do, please let me know if you liked it and noticed a difference!

Leave a Reply

